The Foundation for Appalachian Ohio awarded more than $390,000 in scholarships to over 240 students in Ohio, including five from Athens County. Athens County 2019 scholarship recipients are:

  • Iman Abukamail, a 2019 graduate of Athens High School, was awarded the Ariana R. Ulloa Scholarship, an award established to honor the legacy of its namesake, Ariana Ulloa. Ariana Ulloa was a native of Mexico and the former director of Hocking College‚Äôs Department of International Programs, and the scholarship in her name is consequently designed for international students and students who intend to pursue international studies. After a gap year, Iman plans to attend either Case Western Reserve University or Northeastern University, where she will study international relations, business, and French.
  • Faith Laughlin, a 2019 graduate of Federal Hocking High School, was awarded the Bob Evans and Wayne White Legacy Scholarship. The Bob Evans and Wayne White Legacy Scholarship remembers the legacy and commitment of these two friends to Appalachian Ohio by supporting graduating high school seniors throughout the 32 Appalachian Ohio counties. Faith will attend Ohio University in the fall.
  • Madison Neal, a 2019 graduate of Trimble High School, was awarded a scholarship from the Foundation for Appalachian Ohio. Madison will attend Hocking College in the fall.
  • Audrey Bohyer and Justin Perry, both 2019 graduates of Nelsonville-York High School, were awarded the Lee Becket Legacy Scholarship. The Lee Becket Legacy Scholarship Fund provides scholarship opportunities annually to graduating Nelsonville-York students pursuing post-secondary studies to ensure youth have the opportunity to continue their academic endeavors after high school. The scholarship fund honors Lee Beckett, a longtime teacher at York High School, and her work to support countless students during her 43 years at the school. In the fall, Audrey will attend Ohio University, and Justin will attend Lipscomb University.
Load comments