Gov. John Kasich has issued an emergency declaration for 17 counties along the Ohio River, including Athens and other Southeastern Ohio counties, due to dangerous flooding and storm conditions.

Besides Athens, impacted counties include Adams, Belmont, Brown, Clermont, Columbiana, Gallia, Hamilton, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Monroe, Meigs, Muskingum, Scioto and Washington.

Emergency declarations allow the governor to use state resources to help affected areas.

Current storm and flood preparation efforts include deploying National Guard troops in response to local requests to help install flood gates along flood walls. Other efforts include delivering sandbags to Athens County, holding coordination calls with National Weather Service and providing situation awareness reports to federal, state and local partners.

Load comments